Martyrs can’t be wrong

Am I really an atheist? We get such a bad rap this time of year. The hyper-religious claim I can’t possibly be one. Look, they exclaim, you’re eating a Cadbury cream egg!
.
Canadian writer Michael Coren has just taken aim at atheists in a piece where he denounces some notable non-believers for questioning the existence of Christ. At first he attempts to rationally debate the authenticity of historical texts written a considerable time after Christ’s death. But then Coren asserts that since so many early Christians were willing to die for their beliefs, their martyrdom must be considered evidence of Christ’s authenticity and that he was indeed the messiah.
.
Let’s be clear. Fervent belief in Jesus and the resurrection doesn’t make it any more true than your neighbour’s adamant belief he was abducted by a UFO and anally probed by extra-terrestrials. Does the world really need more young men strapping bombs to their bodies in return for scores of virgins in the afterlife? Thank-you, Mr. Coren, for offering evidence that those girls in heaven exist. (Just to be on the safe side, I think we ought to ban anyone with Coren’s essay on their computers from boarding aircraft.)
.
Coren isn’t the only one who equates numbers with truth but he ought to know better. As an atheist, I’m hardly afraid of polls. I don’t wish to slam democracy here, but if the majority was always right, then chocolate eggs would be good for us and Nickelback would be cool.
.
I admit I occasionally doubt my atheism. Sometimes I pick up pennies for good luck. And I often catch myself believing that bicycles have souls. Musicians feel the same about guitars. Everybody talks to their cars, especially old, and sputtering about-to-die cars. We coax them up hills with an encouraging, “You can do it, sweetheart!” I do, at least.
.
Religious folks say this shows I’m part of the majority which believes in a higher power. Not really. When I really examine the issue, I realize that I’m only projecting human qualities onto inanimate objects. Bicycles and guitars only have souls as far as our hearts are concerned. My mind is rational enough to know better.
And not that it matters to whether it’s true or not, Mr. Coren, but I’m not the only one who thinks this way.

3 responses to “Martyrs can’t be wrong

  1. Who is this Michael Coren? I could probably have dissected his article in Grade 6. He has possibly the weakest logic and reasoning I have ever read.

    “In fact no Biblical expert worth the name doubts that Jesus lived, that He claimed to be The Messiah and that many who knew Him believed that claim. The idea that He was just a great moral teacher or that we can believe some but not all what He taught is, frankly, intellectually flabby. He claimed to be the Son of God. If He wasn’t, He was lying or insane. Liars are not to be believed and madmen are not to be followed even in part.”

    Riiiight. As if no madmen have even been followed, or liars believed. Is that just most of the “exciting” parts of 20th century history?

  2. Stuffed animals DO have souls. And they also bring luck.

  3. Coren’s stuck in the usual delusional loop that comes with cognitive dissonance, the somewhat lightly-regarded “if I believe it hard enough, it must be true” line of scientific method.

Leave a comment